Extreme Makeover: Africa Edition

To ensure that a long lasting impression was left on St. Martins after we left Joe and I decided to make some permanent changes around the plot. With additional and left over funds that I raised we were able to buy many new things that St. Martins really needed but could not afford. Our first item we bought was paint to get rid of the dreary chipped white walls and replace it with pink, blue and teal coloring that looks more childish.

DSC03316 DSC03277 DSC03313 DSC03251 DSC03246 DSC03241 102_4856 102_4830 102_4827 102_4826

In the admins office there are many informational health and proper caregiving videos that are just lying around not being used because there is no way of showing them to anyone. Because of this we have bought a projector and speakers that can be used to show these informational videos and other movies to the caregivers and children. We also ordered blinds to cover the large windows and painted a wall white in the dining room to make it into a movie theater when it is time to show videos.

About 5 months ago the plot got broken into and 18 computers were stolen (unfortunately I did not have enough money to replace 18 computers) and in this process many windows were broken. These windows have stayed cracked for the past couple months allowing bugs and cold air to enter the dining room and kitchen, so we bought new glass to replace the cracked windows.

102_4837

The final edition that we made was to the swing set in the back of the plot that is falling apart and almost nonexistent. Joe and I went to the hardware store and bought new material to build a new part of the swing set so the children have more places to play.

One thing I found very interesting when purchasing these items is that in Africa it is possible to barter in actual stores. Piet claims that this only happened because of my accent and my skin color, but I like to think that it is my good looks and charming personality, but whichever reason it is we were able to save a lot of money. At each store I would bring the product I wanted to buy to the cash register and begin to tell a well-rehearsed story about St. Martins and the good work it does and how this product will benefit the children greatly and we are in dire need of it. Normally the manager or storeowner would knock a couple hundred rand off the final price. Buying the projector was a two-day process however, because it was a rather expensive item at first.   After I told the manager that I can’t spend too much money on it because I still have to purchase many other items that the plot needs, he told me to “come back later in the week with how much money you have left and we can work something out”. We came back the next day and after a little negotiating and me literally fainting (on accident) in the store (don’t worry mom I’m ok) he ended up taking close to 100 USD off the price!!

It is crazy to think that my time here in South Africa and at St. Martins is almost over and I didn’t realize how much I would miss this place until this past Saturday when they held a farewell party for Joe and I. They bused in children from the surrounding townships, so the place was packed. The day was filled with constant dancing, singing and cultural performances put on by the children. These kids are so talented and amazing dancers and move in ways I didn’t even think were possible. It must be in their genes or something because when they pulled me on stage to dance my moves were horrible and I looked nothing like them. At the end of the day the kids started raising their hands to tell us thanks and say individual things that we have done to help them and the plot. They then presented us with a card that was very heartwarming and an incredibly nice gesture.

DSC03831 DSC03874DSC03808 DSC03827 DSC03773

 

After the big party at the plot Joe and I hurried home because it was our turn to cook dinner. Because we missed the fourth of July in the states we were going to cook an American meal for everyone in the house. We cooked quite the American feast that consisted of cheeseburgers, hot dogs, fruit salad, corn on the cob, mini pizza, French fries, apple crisp, funfetti cake and lemonade. I felt right at home eating that food and everyone really enjoyed the meal!

DSC03882 DSC03880

 

 

2 thoughts on “Extreme Makeover: Africa Edition

  1. Yeah Willikers!!!!! You did a great job with painting and fixing the windows., Wish I could have seen you dancing with the children, What a fantastic experience!,,

  2. What a wonderful way to use the extra money. I don’t think anyone will forget you and Joe. Safe travels home. Xxoo

Leave a comment